Governors of Northeast states of India

List of Governors of Northeastern states of India:

State Governor Portrait
 1. Arunachal Pradesh B. D. MishraGovernor of Arunachal Pradesh B.D. Mishra
 2. Assam Jagdish MukhiGovernor of Assam Jagdish Mukhi
 3. Manipur Najma HeptullaGovernor of Manipur Najma Heptulla
 4. Meghalaya Tathagata RoyGovernor of Meghalaya Tathagata Roy
 5. Mizoram P.S. Sreedharan PillaiGovernor of Mizoram P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
 6. Nagaland R. N. RaviGovernor of Nagaland R. N. Ravi
 7. Sikkim Ganga PrasadGovernor of Sikkim Ganga Prasad
 8. Tripura Ramesh BaisGovernor of Tripura Ramesh Bais

Who is a Governor 
for a state of India?
A Governor of a state is generally a public official appointed by the president for tenure of 5 years. All executive actions of a state are taken in the name of the Governor. A Governor also enjoys many Legislative Powers, Judicial powers and Emergency Powers.

Who appoints: A Governor is appointed by the President (Article 155).

Tenure: 5 Years.

Powers of a Governor:
  • A governor has the power to grant pardons, postpone punishments (Article 161).
  • No financial bill can be originated in the state legislature without the Governor’s recommendation.
  • The Governor must approve a public bill for it to become an Act.
  • The Governor shall in respect of every financial year cause to be laid before the House....a statement of the estimated  receipts and expenditure. (Article 202).
  • The Advocate General of the state is appointed by the governor (Article 165).
  • The Chief Minister and other ministers for the state are appointed by the governor (Article 164).
For more details about the different powers enjoyed by a Governor, visit the Kerala government website

Qualification to become a Governor:
  • Must be a citizen of India (Article 157),
  • Should be at least 35 years old (Article 157),
  • The governor shall not be a member of Legislature or Parliament (Article 158),
  • Shall not hold any office of profit (Article 158).
  • Shall be entitled to without payment of rent to the use of his official residences (Article 158)

Also Read
 Districts of Sikkim, State Symbols of Assam
 Capitals of northeastern states of India

Which governor do you think is the best and why? Let me know in the comments below

Districts of Sikkim

Districts of Sikkim - Sikkim is a northeastern state of India with a population of 652,863 (as of 2019) with it's capital at Gangtok.

There are 4 districts in Sikkim each district is governed by a district collector or a district magistrate who is responsible for the civil administration of the district. These districts can be further divided into 16 subdivisions which are governed by a sub-divisional magistrate.

List of Districts of Sikkim

Map of districts of Sikkim
Map of Districts of Sikkim

DistrictsArea ( (2011)
1. East Sikkim954281293
2. North Sikkim422643354
3. South Sikkim750146742
4. West Sikkim1166136299